1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Are there power engineers on this forum?

Discussion in 'General' started by pashlit, Jan 27, 2011.

1. karrotx

karrotx Well-Known Member

Hah!

What's your academic background like? EE/CpE is hard work.

2. some guy #2

some guy #2 Well-Known Member

Other thank EMag waves and fields, what math is hard in EE? There are some complicated equations but it's not like you are deriving equipment models.

3. pashlit

pashlit Well-Known Member

All right. To make the picture as clear as possible. I hold an undegrad degree in Economics/Accounting (dunno what I was thinking when I did it). Have been messing with wires, circuits, chips, mother boards, relays and other electrical stuff since I was a kid. Currently work for a power trading firm analyzing energy markets. Reached the ceiling here and looking for a change. Might go back to college if I have to. Would prefer to change a job though cause I have brain and can do s...t load of stuff with my hands. Have absolutely no connections... Hmmm...What else...

4. some guy #2

You probably won't get an engineering job without an engineering degree. That all depends though with experience you do bring, which doesn't seem like much from a hands on technical perspective in power systems.

Most places want BS EE or Engineering Tech for even entry level jobs.

For field work you might be able to get away with less. A lot of operators (plant, system) I know don't have degrees but you won't move up the ladder if you don't. Line workers, service techs, etc will mainly be about learning the job and possibly joining a union so you go through their program.

If you want hands on R&D type engineering work like prototyping or something science-y that isn't gonna happen unless you are beyond smart.

5. greenguy

greenguy Well-Known Member