Newb question: prep track gixxer

Discussion in 'Track Days' started by ovd, Oct 9, 2010.

1. ovd

ovd Active Member

Hey, folks, a newbie here. Please forgive the lame questions, but may be the crowd here will be willing to help me out.
    I'm getting into track days and was wondering where I should start with track prepping a bike. I was at mid-ohio twice with my k1300s during the summer and was immediately hooked. I don't want to risk crashing the beemer anymore at the track (not counting the fact that it’s too heavy and funny front suspension is vague like hell) and am contemplating buying a 600 gixxer (with the incentives going on now like 0% APR and 1500 off MSRP I may even buy a new one). Budget, of course, is not made of stretchable rubber and is unfortunately fixed and I'm planning the finances that I may need to spend during the next year on tracking the gixxer. I think I will be at the track 5-6 times in 2011. The only things that I'm sure I need to start with are:
    - Race bodywork (hotbodies, new or used if I find any)
    - Exhaust
    - steel brake lines
    - pitt-bull stand
    So, the question is what is the basic upgrade package of parts I "need" to get? Aftermarket brakes, disks? Clip-ons? Rearsets? Suspension? How “essential” all of those are and why, if you don’t mind explaining (told you I’m a newborn).
    Any advice is appreciated.

2. repsol600

repsol600 Well-Known Member

im also a newber but from i have read and seen the best upgrade you can do is in your suspension... at least get it set up for your weight and such and if ya can sweing it get cartridges for your forks and a upgraded rear shock, be it penske,ohlins, racetech or whatever
    other than that the SS lines will be good but rotors or calipers i wouldn't say are necessary, rearsets are a nice addition but not 100% necessary right out of the gate, get some stands , good rubber and your suspension set up and youll be good to go