1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sport tourer / semi comfy sportbike under 4K?

Discussion in 'General' started by Scotty87, Oct 1, 2010.

1. Scotty87

Scotty87 Lacks accountability

Me and a few buddies are making plans to ride from Milwaukee to Laguna next year for the GP. I have nothing street legal in the garage, and have never owned a Sport touring rig. I've got a $4,000 or so ceiling, but I'd like to come in under that.

I have a nice set of Tourmaster side bags and tail bag, and a nice tankbag too that are barely used so hard bags are not a necessity.

I'm considering:

1st gen Bandit 1200 - reasonably comfy, and I can mod it into the hot rod I want after the trip.

FZ1 - same gig as the bandit

ZRX1200 - I like 'em, but I'm not too sure about the lack of a real windscreen.

Busa/zx12/CBR1100xx - Cheap, fast, and from what I hear reasonably comfortable.

BMW K1200r - I really like the naked one, but again the wind protection may be lacking, and the ones I've seen on Ebay are not landing in my price range but some are coming close.

FJR1300 - Probably the best bike for this, but I don't think I'l find one in my price range, and it's a pretty "committed" sport tourer so I can't mess with it later and make it into a cool street beast.

What sez the beeb? Other options I may be missing? Best choice among these?

Last edited: Oct 1, 2010
  2. Redbird

Redbird Well-Known Member

I'm a bit biased, but I'd vote CBR1100XX. One of the most bulletproof streetbikes ever made, all day comfortable, handles reasonably well for such a heavy bike and won't lose much more value at this point. Under 4k shouldn't be a problem.

I made the run from Chicago to Sacramento in 38 hours on one, and that included 10 hours in a hotel room.

3. tlr74

tlr74 4seven4

aprilia futura

4. Gorilla

Gorilla Let me push on that bitch

Haybus.

5. Synchromesh

Synchromesh Active Member

ZRX1200R