interested in riding a 2 stroke. Dos and donts!!

Discussion in '2-Stroke Machines' started by UKTURFROCKS, Jan 13, 2009.

1. UKTURFROCKS

UKTURFROCKS Well-Known Member

Im brand new to the 2 stroke world. I have interests in purchasing and riding one in the future on the track. You guys know best so inputs on these machines would be great. Im not new to the bike schene, i ride a cbr 600 and love the bike but I want to hit the challenges of a smaller ride with (what i;ve heard) better handling and alot more fun. Inputs are greatly appreciated the more you help the more i know!!! thanks

2. Thekd2

Thekd2 Well-Known Member

If you are talking a GP bike both a 125 and 250 are fun. They take much more maintenance than a modern inline four. Both before you hit the track and at the track. If you enjoy working on bikes, these bikes are a ton of fun to ride (and easy to work on, but need a lot of attention) Remember a 125 is at least half the cost and half the headaches (in my opinion) I have a 250 and would have started with a 125 if I had to do it over again. If you can get hooked up with someone that knows the bikes it will make the learning curve much shorter. Make sure you are jetted on the fat side until you really know what you are doing and understand the motor. 300 miles on the top end and 1200 miles on the bottom end (dont push it I did and almost killed myself). My 2 cents. If you have any other questions feel free to pm me. I am in my fourth year of riding two stroke GP bikes and have made most of the mistakes you can make with one (A TZ250 is not a good choice for your first race bike especially having only 2 summers total motorcycling experience MY BAD) Once again they are ALOT of FUN but require ALOT of WORK. Some people like to work on the bikes some don't

3. peter leduc

peter leduc Agaperacing.com

Time is relative