Beginners Guide to Painting Bodywork. From a beginner to a Beginner

Discussion in 'Tech' started by Pugsly, Jul 28, 2003.

1. puresportsdesigns

puresportsdesigns Yea, I guess

also, use circular motions when wet sanding. if you go in straight lines you may see them later.

2. Cannoli

Cannoli Typical Uccio

Thanks guys. Should I use a rubbing compound for the final buff? I have a 3M Fine Cut compound that's a light tan color. Is this too corse or will it be OK?

3. puresportsdesigns

that is for the for the first stage of buffing. get 3M Finesse-It Polishing compound for final buff.

4. Rising

Rising Well-Known Member

Some other thoughts. I am not a professional painter but have some experience with both rattle cans and spray guns.

If you think you will be painting body work a couple of times a year you may be better off investing in an inexpensive paint gun and using better quality paint. For $60 you can buy some decent paint that will hold up a lot better than anything in a spray can. That doesn't include other products like reducers or harderners but most of those supplies will last for more than one paint job. A decent spray gun will lay the paint down better too, and keep you from having to spend as much time wet sanding and buffing.

That said, I just used a rattle can to paint my bike. I didn't do the whole thing though. I just did the tail section and the upper fairing. I have an SV and just have a half fairing not full fairing. Since it was just a couple of pieces and I don't plan on painting it very often I decided to use rattle cans. If I ever paint the whole bike I will use a spray gun.

You can make 99 cent rattle can paint look good if you wet sand and buff it. Like Puresportsdesign said it will not hold up to rocks and other things as well. To get rid of the orange peal I used 800 grit and then 1200 and then 2000 (wet sanding). Followed that up with 3M buffing compound. It turned out good for a track bike.