1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

'08 Schedule, Real Vintage & Obsolete

Discussion in 'WERA Vintage' started by El Skwid!, Oct 19, 2007.

#156 Well-Known Member

[QUOTE=phantom 309: Im with buff I'll race with any one!
    I'm here and waiting ! I will go anywhere also. Look at my track record of all the tracks i travel too. Love ya tim !!!!!!!!! :beer:

2. push rod

push rod Well-Known Member

more BS from an old racer

I've been racing for 35 years and I observed over these many years that the one thing that all racers have in common is...
    nothing, other than they love two wheels. Their motivations for showing up at the track are many, so any attempt at solving the problem of lower turnouts is likely to be a frustrating one.

Some of my observations:

1. If you can get an racer interested in winning a championship, you'll get them to make the commitment year-in year-out. I did it too many years to count.
    2. Some people race because it sounds cool and they like to tell their friends that's what they do.
    3. Some race for sheer love of the old machinery.
    4. Some race so they have a chance to go fast without fear of tickets etc.
    5. Some race for the commeraderie.
    6. Some race for the technical challenge of building and driving a machine somewhat close to the edge.
    7. Many AHRMA racers would never think of racing WERA 'cause it's not the premier vintage racing org. And they REALLY get pissed when they can't win at the non-Premier race org event. I've had a number of friends that live within 10 miles of me that would never think of driving to Summit, yet will go all over creation to race with AHRMA. Go figure.