1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MotoAmerica | Superbikes at Pittsburgh presented by LaRoche Aviation Services | Aug 19-21

Discussion in 'General' started by RossK6, Aug 16, 2022.

1. henry_carlson

henry_carlson BREAD_RACING

i think they protested dom doyle too at road america when he was beating rocco early on

2. Boman Forklift

Boman Forklift Well-Known Member

That's exactly what I was thinking. I'm not a professional motor builder, but I've had plenty of them apart. If it is as fresh as they say, they didn't remove the crank or the piston/rod assembly from what I'm reading. They wouldn't have even messed up the cam timing it they removed the cams and didn't have to take off the gears. So a set of gaskets, check the cam timing if you want and you are back in business, from my understanding.

Now if the engine isn't fresh and was due for a rebuild, sure then the R6 can get expensive because you are probably replacing all the valves as well as the rods/pistons/rings and doing a valve seat cut/grind, or maybe throwing on a new head?

Edit:
    I just looked who I quoted, and you are a professional engine builder, so....yea....what he said.

R1Racer99 likes this.
  3. RRP

RRP Kinda Superbikey

:crackup:

4. regularguy

regularguy Always Krispy

fooled another one....

5. RRP

RRP Kinda Superbikey

Well Mike - I can't complain. As far as I'm concerned you're pretty darn professional, you actually put all the parts I gave you in MY motor(s) as opposed to Probst who either stole them or put them in OTHER peoples motors! :D

SundaySocial and Boman Forklift like this.
  6. tophyr

tophyr Grid Filler

I heard this quoted a bunch by various people throughout the weekend, including my crew chief, but I looked in the rulebook and couldn't find anything about it. Only relevant passage I was able to find was this: