A little help with my Ducati 1098...

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by Driz, Apr 19, 2012.

1. Driz

Driz Member

I'm new to racing this year and am part of the ASMA racing series near Deming, NM.

I recently added a 520 conversion and dropped a tooth in front (14) and added a two in back (40). When I fitted, sized and tensioned everything up I had a well-worn 190/55 installed. No issues there.

When my Tire supplier at the track said he would be stocking the Pirelli 190/55's for the upcoming season and instead was carrying the new 200/55's, I didn't skip a beat and had one installed on my rim. I had a tough time getting the tire installed but didn't make the connection that it was rubbing until I tried to push the bike manually. So he swapped it out for an older 190/55 that he just happened to have and it fit without issue. Although, after coming in from a few laps around the track the clearance between the tire and the swingarm is small enough that my tire warmers are snug going through the tight spot near the swingarm.

After that weekend, I ordered everything I needed to add a link to my chain to give me that extra space I needed to fit the larger tire. However once I broke the chain and moved the eccentric link to the 'sweet spot' (the approximately 4-5 o'clock position on the hub), I had one rung left on my rear sprocket with the chain tensioned properly. By rung, I mean I'd need a link with 3 pins or a master link and a half.

Has anyone had similar issue with their 1098, 1198 or 848? Would you think stepping up to a 42 or back down to a 38 would be better for the situation?

2. Claussen

Claussen Well-Known Member