The old "taking a break" thread.....

Discussion in 'General' started by ryoung57, Sep 22, 2015.

1. ryoung57

ryoung57 Off his meds

Maybe it's the law of diminishing returns, but it seems that riding on the track doesn't seem as fun as it used to. I can't justify the expense of racing seriously so it's pretty much just trackdays. I've been considering selling my bike and buying a bigger/faster bike, or buying a newer/slower bike, or even getting into 250's or motards, but the more I think about it, the more sense it makes to just sell it all and pay off my car or something.

I'm just afraid I'm going to regret it and end up spending twice as much buying and building another bike in the spring.

2. xrated

xrated Well-Known Member

Everyone is different, but I simply cannot imagine NOT riding. I've been doing it since 1971 and still looking forward to everytime I throw a leg over and ride.........street and track.

3. GrayGhost

GrayGhost Well-Known Member

You definitely have to have the desire to race very strongly to overcome the time and expense this sport entails. I've never been involved with something you can spend this amount of both on but yet here I am because I have also never found anything that compares to the feeling of gridding up .

4. dsapsis

dsapsis El Jefe de los Monos

You don't need to race much or too seriously to make track days feel like a round of golf. At least that is how it was (and is) for me.

5. Motofun352

Motofun352 Well-Known Member

There are few competitive sports that don't seriously penalize age...golf? MC's? Can't think of any others off the top of my head. Anyways, If you have the "must compete" gene then something will suck you back in. If you're already geared up and past the learning stage, Why change?

6. bored&stroked

bored&stroked Disclaimer: Can't spell