1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wet/Rain tire recommendations for newbie/novice

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by j cal, Jun 19, 2017.

1. j cal

j cal Well-Known Member

I'm a novice racer that hopes to do at least 1 weekend a season, that's looking for tire recommendations for wet/rain.

I've ridden on the track with street tires (Q3's), and was "OK". So, I was thinking of using these on my second set of wheels when the weather isn't so great.

If the race day starts off raining/drizzling/wet, I'm looking to just throw my "wet tires" on and probably keep it on throughout the day.

I don't want to worry about looking for puddles, determining if a dry line is forming etc. if I went with rain tires.

Has anyone seen people run street tires on race day?

2. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

All depends on the exact conditions but yes, people do run certain DOT's as intermediates.

j cal likes this.
  3. j cal

j cal Well-Known Member

Understood. I'm sure it's specific track-to-track, but are there any conditions that I would just sit out with DOT's (i.e. pouring rain vs wet track after rain)?

4. mike-guy

mike-guy Well-Known Member

If it's wet enough that your tires are throwing up a rooster tail then real rain race tires are the only thing that is going to make a difference. If your actually trying to lay down good lap times those sipens you will find on street tires are worth nothing, may as well be on slicks.

Now about racing on some Q3s or similar trackday tire that will depend on how fast you are really. Some guys do well with those tires and I've been shocked at the lap times I've seen set on the buuuuut IMO why try and race on a trackday tire?

j cal likes this.
  5. Mongo

Mongo Administrator