1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Track Prepping a Buell 1125R

Discussion in 'Track Days' started by Eaton_corners, Dec 24, 2010.

1. Eaton_corners

Eaton_corners Active Member

I have seen a couple of threads with questions about preparing a bike for track days and/or racing. Since I am planning to race my Buell 1125R in WERA, I am trying to find as much information as possible. I am fairly new to the track so I have a lot to learn before I race. Someone in another thread expressed interest in following my progress in prepping a Buell because of the scarcity of aftermarket parts. Also, I will be looking for ways to keep my budget as low as possible so, there are some things that may be available that I will not use but I will include for information. I would also ask anyone who can offer helpful information to please post here.

After reading the online rulebook, I have determined that there are only two items that I will have to buy to make my bike legal to race; a steering damper, and a belly pan. Tie wire and lens removal are relatively cost free. There are some other pieces that I will want but, I will list those as they become more important.
    I am planning to buy the belly pan from Erik Buell Racing. The price is $179.00 without brackets, which I will have to build myself. I DO HAVE A QUESTION about the rules. The rules do not specifically state that an absorbent is required in the belly pan. Is this required, and where can I get it?

2. Paint Shaker

Paint Shaker Tractor Motor Racer