1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tire Selections

Discussion in 'General' started by RANDALL WORKMAN, Feb 25, 2021.

1. RANDALL WORKMAN

RANDALL WORKMAN Well-Known Member

All,

I am getting a bunch of great information on racing tires for my Ninja 400 but I need more help !

I am an expert with WERA and CCS and this will be my first season on the 400 and I have been told to run all the brands and different sizes, obviously I would like to run slicks but it is not a deal breaker.

What does everyone know about Michelins 1. do they have a 110/140 slicks ? 2 should I stay at that size or could I use the stones and bump up to the 120/165 ?

Lastly I am in the north east region and have seen all the vendors here so I know that is not an issue

2. WillMill

WillMill CRA MN #633

Ive ridden on Pirelli, and Dunlop slicks on the little bikes, also Michelin and Bridgestone DOTs, not slicks. To be honest, I cant tell much of a difference. The Michelin DOTs are great when they are new, but they are a dual compound. On my bike, they wore funny, and I went through rears faster than any of the other brands. The Dunlop slicks have a pretty stiff carcass compared to the others. The Bridgestone DOTs worked The best if you have to ride on a wet track thats not wet enough for rain tires. On a dry sunny day, I think I preferred the Pirellis. They will slide just a little bit, but never completely let go. This is all just my opinion, and I agree with what you’ve been told, try em all yourself, and see what best suits your riding style.

3. In bitches.

4. Pneumatico Delle Vittorie

Pneumatico Delle Vittorie Retired "Tire" Guy

Here's your slick choices
    Pirelli 110/70R17 Diablo SBK
    D 110/70R17 KR448
    Pirelli 140/70R17 Diablo SBK
    D 140/70R17 KR451

Here's your rain choices
    Pirelli 110/70R17 Diablo Rain
    D 110/70R17 KR189
    BStone 110/590-17 W01
    Pirelli 140/70R17 Diablo Rain