1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

riding mowers

Discussion in 'General' started by barnacle bill, Apr 30, 2015.

1. barnacle bill

barnacle bill Darethea and B Bill

I think I am in the market for a new riding mower. I don't think I want a zer0 turn mower but another lawn tractor type. I have been mowing with my yamaha mower for 25 yrs on the same belt and original spark plug . I usually put about 50-75 hrs on it every season or there abouts.but the tires are shot and it's only a 38 inch cut. I'm thinking something in a V twin with about a 48 inch cut ( I have some pretty technical stuff to mow) . I'm thinking maybe husquavana with the kawasaki engine a YTH18K46 model. I kow I'm probably not going to get the same milage I've gotten with the yamaha ( hell I won't live that long) but what R you guys mowing with? besides a herd of sheep or goats? thanks, bill and darethea

2. skidooboy

skidooboy supermotojunkie

simplicity for the win! full floating deck for no scalping, full rear rollers on deck, for the striping of the lawn in any pattern you want. just mowed last night, Broome would be proud, 48" uniform stripes. I even make it look like I mow through the cables, trees and poles. :D Ski

Attached Files:

3. DaveB

DaveB Just Riding Around

Don't rule out zero turn unless you have tried one and didn't like it. I bought a dealer demo Exmark 52" cut about 10 years ago and love it. Cut my mowing time over 40% and so easy to get close to stuff it cut my weed eater time as well.

Don't consider any of the cheaper zero turns that use stamped frames, etc. Those are for people with flat residential type lawns and they won't take the abuse of hills, ruts and stuff that we've got out in the country.

4. r6boater

r6boater Logged out

If you decide to get rid of the yamaha for a song, I have a 15 year old looking to expand his business and might be interested in it...

5. kman0066