1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ram 2500 5.7L

Discussion in 'General' started by wheelz96, May 10, 2019.

1. wheelz96

wheelz96 Well-Known Member

So I just picked up a 2016 Dodge Ram 2500 SLT 5.7L from an auction at my work. I paid $17K with 102,000 miles on the odometer. Never been in an accident and fully maintained its whole life. Mint! The deal was too good to be true and had no time to wait around so I made the purchase.

I am new to 3/4 pickups and was hoping others can chime in with things to know and look out for on this truck. I realize it has the smaller hemi of the two but any idea how it tows and what weight I should keep to with this motor and truck size? I realize I can look up spec sheets but want to know others experience pulling with this.

In the near future we will be pulling a 7 x 14 TT with two bikes, tools, and track gear etc... Also looking to purchase a boat and just want to make sure this is the right size truck.

Any wisdom would be appreciated!

ducnut likes this.
  2. NemesisR6

NemesisR6 Gristle McThornbody

It should pull the things you describe no problem.

Regular 1/2 ton truck would have been more than up to the task, as well.

3. wheelz96

I'm sure it would be. Like I said I took advantage of a great price. Is the 5.7 an engine that will run over 300K? This is also my first Dodge.

4. wheelz96

And why would anyone choose the 5.7 vs the 6.4 or cummins? I'm only talking 3/4 sized truck. Is there a benefit with fuel mileage? I wouldn't think it would be much better..

5. rd49

rd49 Well-Known Member

The engine might, the rest of the truck............... :D

Diesel better towing with the torque they produce.

raven433 likes this.
  6. wheelz96

Haha. I did not mean to start a Dodge vs Ford type thread!

NemesisR6 likes this.
  7. NemesisR6

NemesisR6 Gristle McThornbody

Nobody ever does.....

Chris, StaccatoFan and wheelz96 like this.
  8. Spitz