1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Protecting a home address

Discussion in 'General' started by DrA5, Oct 7, 2019.

1. DrA5

DrA5 The OTHER Great Dane

I'll try and thumbnail this as best I can. As I have mentioned before, I am a medicolegal consultant. I assist in identifying, reviewing and prosecuting fraud, along with doing peer review. I testify in court regarding professional standards and medical coding issues. Basically policing my profession.

I only have a home office. My vendors/clients send me work via secure web portals, or even mail over records. For professional purposes and "optics", I don't (think) i want a PO box.

I have an unhinged health care provider in a neighboring state that is really going too far after he came under review. Contacting me directly, emailing and mailing letters, subpoenas for my CV and tax records, etc. I have accumulated the content and sent it to his state licensing board for disciplinary action along with a copy for my attorney.

But it got me thinking. What if this happens with someone a bit closer? My address is on three different websites and my letterhead/cards. I am 99% sure it will never result in physical harm, but I have had colleagues have their cars keyed, screws in the driveway and clinic parking lots, etc.

What are some options regarding keeping a professional appearance (and that is paramount to have a professional appearance and not some fly by night company) and protection/barriers by having a home office? I know PO Box, but I just dont like the looks of that unless that is the only viable option. Anything else possible that I am not aware of?

2. Montoya

Montoya Well-Known Member