1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pressurised Airbox question;

Discussion in '2-Stroke Machines' started by Algonquin, Oct 20, 2017.

1. Algonquin

Algonquin VRRA and DOCC no.92

Far too many serious and meaningful discussions being posted of late so please let me pose a truly dumb question now:

How do we reach the fuel tap and the choke when the airbox is pretty much sealed by carbon fibre panels and snorkel tube or two while we are at the track? Screen door hinges and a long spring come to mind but I suspect that isn't the popular setup...

Cheers,
    fmcd

2. nantahala

nantahala Well-Known Member

Just lift up the front of the tank and reach in.

Assuming you are talking about an RS...

3. vance

vance *

I'm pretty new to this but if you're asking how you choke the bike for a morning start, pop the tank, start it, fasten the tank back down.
    Seriously, get a starter tool. Start the bike while the warmers are still on, no bump starting. I'm always on my own so it was a must.

4. Algonquin

Yes, RS125 looking for a manageable way to do that with gloves and one-handed so I don't need to set the carby up with a high idle like a street bike. I typically just bump start but maybe starting on the rear stand would be the ticket. Thank you.
    I have that starter tool but the installed nut loosens off too easily, do people loctite them in place?

Last edited: Oct 21, 2017
  5. vance

vance *

My starter tool is the larger size, don't need the starter nut.
    Previous owner showed be how to do it with bump start but damn what a circus.
    Pin that holds tank down out
    Lift tank, choke
    Bump start
    Choke down
    Left elbow across tank while blipping throttle with left hand
    Tank clip in with right hand
    Assuming you're right handed.

Then I just bought the tool. :beer:

Phl218 likes this.
  6. nantahala

nantahala Well-Known Member