1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pirelli SC1 Slicks - Novice Rider

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by AC792, May 8, 2018.

1. AC792

AC792 Well-Known Member

Hey guys, I picked up a dedicated track bike this year after getting addicted to the track last year on my Supermoto. The bike I picked up has a brand new set of SC1 slicks on it, so I got a set of warmers as I know I will need them. However, since I am a Novice track day rider, I am a little worried about having slicks and the pace to keep them hot.

Will I be okay running slicks as long as I'm using a set of warmers to get them to temp? Since they came with the bike and they are brand new, I would prefer not to have to change them but ultimately want to make sure I will be safe.

To give you an idea, I would consider myself a front pack novice rider. I am by no means fast, but I wouldn't consider myself the bottom of the barrel either.

Thanks for your input!

2. Brian Riemland

Brian Riemland Active Member

You should be ok if you dont take the warmers off...
    or its 250 degrees outside.

SuddenBraking and AC792 like this.
  3. AC792

AC792 Well-Known Member

Thanks for the help [emoji848]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4. stangmx13

stangmx13 Well-Known Member

IMO, ull be fine. even if u don't get them really hot, they still should have more grip than street tires at the same temperature.

AC792 likes this.
  5. ekraft84

ekraft84 Registered User

If you're a novice track day rider, I might look at selling the slicks and getting Pirelli's track day tire. Would work out better overall for you.

CC'ing @metricdevilmoto, as he's a good Pirelli guy.

Jon Wilkens likes this.
  6. metricdevilmoto

metricdevilmoto Just forking around