1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Old or newer?

Discussion in 'WERA Vintage' started by LI Pilot, Aug 10, 2009.

1. LI Pilot

LI Pilot Yamadog

Hey everyone. I'm a newbie getting into the racing scene. I have all my equipment and some possible bike candidates. I own two CB 450's and a 350. I'd like to get into the vintage scene although I don't know if it would be more cost effective or any better on maintenance. To modify one of my bikes or to just go for a newer model machine. I also question the parts replacement cost when I go down. From what people gather what would be the more appropriate bike for me. I can afford to hit a few club races and maybe a race or three outside of that. It may be a silly question but all input counts.
    Thanks John

2. Rodger

Rodger RamJet

I have not raced in years .. but I would buy a ninja 250 , ex500 or something ready to race before I would spend what it would take to set up 1 of those . I would also be afraid of racing those , they might have been great in their day , but scarey compared to the handling & brakes of newer stuff . You know when you get into a duel , you will be pushing it & I remember some wiggles from those bikes still :) .

3. footwork

footwork Honda Research Analyst

you might be suprised at how fast you can go on the classic Hondas.

4. Nosferatu

Nosferatu WERA 996 AHMRA 248

I just finished to put together my CB350 racer. If you want to know how was it please PM me. As for parts there is no shortage on eBay and there isn't much to break to be honest.

5. eightforty

eightforty Member

I think you'd be better off starting on a vintage bike, like the 350. Take a racing/riding school or three. When/if you decide to get on a larger, faster bike, you'll have the experience and skills to use most of what the bike can deliver. They ARE faster than they look....and pretty reliable too.

Tim