1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Noob - Need info about buying an RS125 with an 80cc motor

Discussion in 'Mini Racing' started by Noam Ben-Hamou, Dec 12, 2017.

1. Noam Ben-Hamou

Noam Ben-Hamou Active Member

Hello, thank in advance for any info, i'm very new to this so I know NOTHING

I currently ride a kayo MR125 and looking for something just a little more serious for the gokart tracks.

I'm looking at a particular RS125 with an 80cc motor in it. It's a 1996 year and has inverted forks.
    Asking price is $7500
    Seller says that most RS125 are not done right when putting an 80cc engine because the "distance from the swing arm pivot to the front sprocket".

The seller informs me the reason for this price is because a very difficult custom brackets had to be made to properly fit the 80cc motor, because if not properly done - there will be alot of vibration.

I have no reason to suspect that the seller is not accurate, but I just don't know anything about this.

Is this a good price? and is the fitment of the 80cc on the RS frame that complicated and sensitive.

Also - any other places to find an RS125 with 80cc motor?

thank you in advance!
    Noam

2. Boman Forklift

Boman Forklift Well-Known Member

IMO that is way too much money. RS125/85 usually trade between $2000-3000 and most of them are done in the previous version chassis up to 1994. The kickstart boss is usually removed to help slide the motor countershaft back closer to the swingarm.

Here is one that was available earlier this year.

http://forums.13x.com/index.php?thr...85-engine-los-angeles-ca.344349/#post-5104257

Often the newer chassis is used to drop in a Honda 150R motor, which is usually quicker and the 4 stroke is definitely a bit easier to ride vs. a 2 stroke CR85 motor.

Bill from this advertisement may know of some more of these, he used to have a few of them.