1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie LRRS Questions

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by wickedninja, Nov 1, 2020.

1. wickedninja

wickedninja Rookie Racer

My first post here! ;)

I'm looking to start racing next season with LRRS, and I have a few questions, but some brief background first...

I'm not new to track riding, I've been riding with Penguin Racing School for several years now. Currently running in the advanced class where I've been for the past few years, so racing is the next logical step (and I can't wait!!!)

Reading the LRRS rulebook concerning licensing, here is what it says:
    LICENSING
    3.1 All racers must have a current road race (CCS) license; or must apply for a license at the event they wish to participate in.
    3.1.1 If applying for license applicants must provide proof of prior racing experience or a certificate indicating completion of an approved rider’s school.

Since I'm currently unlicensed, how do I fill out the application? Penguin offers a program to get your race license, usually during the track day prior to a race weekend. Can I get my license on Friday and race on Saturday? How does that work? If that's the case, how does bike numbering work (my bike has no numbers on it)?

Another question I have is about tires. Normally I run Dunlop Q3/Q4's which I can get through Penguin, but I want to start running slicks. There is a Dunlop truck there all weekend, can slicks be purchased right from them that day? If not how to ya'll pre-order? Also, I heard really good things about the Pirelli SC-1/SC2 slicks, where can one get these on race day (or before) and would the Dunlop guys change them at the track if needed?

So many questions, I feel like I'm starting all over again!

Thanks in advance to anyone who takes the time to answer!

2. Pneumatico Delle Vittorie

Pneumatico Delle Vittorie Retired "Tire" Guy