1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new to track days

Discussion in 'Track Days' started by vdub 2.0, Jan 5, 2011.

1. vdub 2.0

vdub 2.0 Well-Known Member

i have had my bike for a year now, i am looking to get it out on to a track this year hopefully a few times, but i am new to this so can you guys please give me some information? i am looking into getting my suit, gloves and boots soon but i dont know how to go about signing up for a track day and my next question would be should i go in as novice or go to a track school? im right out side NY city so the closest track is NJMP

2. Suburbanrancher

Suburbanrancher Chillzilla

There's a bunch of good clubs in your area that offer instruction for first-time track riders. I do some coaching with Absolute Cycle, so I'll use them as an example - go to their website where you can either sign-up online (it'll have a calender, fees, etc) or get their phone # and call them directly to book your day. Sign up as a 'first-time rider' and you can take the trackday intro school which is included for free. I highly suggest you go this route, at it'll make you first track experience more entertaining then nerve-racking and you'll have much more fun in the long run :up:

3. beac83

beac83 "My safeword is bananna"

IF you want to ride at NJMP, check the track website for schedule, then see what trackday organizations have dates there.

Go to the organization's site, where you can read up on the org's requirements, rules, etc. (they each are a bit different), and where you can register for that org's track dates.

Sign up and go ride. Keep your ego in check, have a great day, and enjoy the smile that won't leave your face for a few days after you ride track.

4. vdub 2.0