1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New to the Rs125 NX4 quick questions

Discussion in '2-Stroke Machines' started by Supermotoguy, Jul 29, 2021.

1. Supermotoguy

Supermotoguy Active Member

Hello,

I’ll be riding my 04 Honda Rs 125 this weekend and I’m a bit unsure of what gearing as a starting point I need to run. I know this really depends on the track and skill level. I’m not new to racing but I am new to road racing and this motorcycle. I also understand that I’m going to need to change my gearing at some point during the day. Based on what I’ve seen out of r3’s and the like and 600’s on YouTube, the top speeds are somewhere between 85-115 mph. Considering that I’m unfamiliar with this motorcycle and GP shift, I’ve selected my gearing as 15/40, which will give me a top speed of 105 mph according to gearing commander. It’s also been a considerable amount of time since I’ve ridden a two stroke but have a lot of experience with them. Does this sound like an unreasonable choice as a starting point? Is it going to wheelie everywhere? Im a intermediate-expert level supermoto rider and a B class motocrosser if that helps. I’m lost. Help. I’m trying keep the gearing changes to a minimum by choosing the best possible starting point.

Thanks for reading

2. Boman Forklift

Boman Forklift Well-Known Member

I'm going off 12 year old memory, but I think we ran 36-39 quite a bit. That was with a 100lb kid, so adding some teeth should be fine, to help you get out of the corners.

Like many things on a RS125, changing the gearing on that bike is very easy. If you have never ridden it, you really need to slip the clutch for awhile to take off. Also warm it up to 45C before taking off.

I went to look for the USGPRU forum which had a gear chart by track, but it looks like it is gone. Did find this one for you.
    http://natsforum.net/

Last edited: Jul 29, 2021
  3. Supermotoguy