1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My new bike 1996 Honda RS125

Discussion in '2-Stroke Machines' started by Shawn Bandel, Dec 2, 2017.

1. Shawn Bandel

Shawn Bandel Active Member

I just bought my first two stroke race bike a 1996 Honda RS125. It is being shipped from the east coast to me here in Colorado.

I have no experience with one of these machines. Last year I raced a Yamaha R3 and have a mini that I race which is a KX65 with a 80cc big bore kit.

Any tips on how to care for this bike and race it properly. I have a season pass to my local kart track and was hoping to practice on it there but my friend said it would be impossible to use there because of the way they are geared internally. Is there a way to make it kart track friendly without changing the motor out?

The big track that is nearby is getting repaved so no riding until the spring and I don't want to wait.

Here's some pics

Attached Files:

Racingxtc7 likes this.
  2. gpracer15

gpracer15 Built to Ride

Jettng, jetting, and jetting lol....I have had many of these. You need to learn to jet this bike and keep the routine maintenance up.

For each track I would start making a chart for the following.

track distance
    number of laps per session
    Temp
    Humidity
    Main jet size
    gearing
    suspension settings

Keep up with these. you can multiply your laps times the track length to record mileage. If I remember correctly I ran 1200 miles max on a crank and about 300 on a top end.

Here is a good resource.
    http://www.fatbaq.com/mainpage.phtml?topic=tech

There was a basic jetting chart I used to go buy. I always jetted richer 1-2 jet sizes if I was not sure. You can do plug chops on and read your plug and get
    it close once at the track....Its not hard at all to maintain and jet the bike once you get familiar with it. The first time I rode one I was hooked....Going to make to not want to ride