1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motorcycle officers - where have they gone?

Discussion in 'General' started by 2blueYam, Jul 30, 2019.

1. 2blueYam

2blueYam Track Day Addict

Maybe they still exist elsewhere, but I sure don't see them in the Mid-Atlantic area outside of Washington DC where most of them are doing motorcade duty. I assume it is a safety issue for the officers? Given the current animosity toward law enforcement today, I don't think I would want to be on a motorcycle if I was a law enforcement officer.

This question brought to you from channel surfing and noticing CHIPs was on. :D Some of the stunt riders were actually not too bad given that they were dealing with 650lb KZ1000s with late 1970s -to early 1980's suspension and tires. Using ramps and cars that blow up when they roll over not part of the stunt work I am praising.

2. Dave K

Dave K DaveK über alles!

Fairfax county runs them year round on big harleys. I thought I heard something about them trying BMWs or something else but it's "potato potato potato" as they move along.

3. bleacht

bleacht Well-Known Member

We have one in our town and they also now have a Dodge Ram. You still see motorcycle officers in NYC as well.

BigBird likes this.
  4. BigBird

BigBird blah

I mean they still around

see: police officer dirtbike in NYC :D

Also, I saw a bunch in California. And they don't wear full helmets either :confused:

5. R Acree

R Acree Banned

We have a few left here.

6. auminer

auminer Renaissance Redneck

Dallas area is covered with 'em.

I just got a warning from an SUV cop yesterday... you'll never catch a break from an MC cop though. Buncha surly dicks. I guess it's the Harleys.

G 97 likes this.
  7. Robin172

Robin172 Well-Known Member

There's always a couple patrolling around Barber during the Vintage Festival.

8. renegade17

renegade17 Well-Known Member

The ones from North Carolina are dicks!