1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Michelin Power One Questions

Discussion in 'Tech' started by BigHeadzDC, Aug 24, 2009.

1. BigHeadzDC

BigHeadzDC One Track Wonder

This weekend I had my 1st negative experience with the Power One race tires. These are the DOT variants. 190-B on the rear, 120-B on the front. Front had 4 track days on it, rear had 1.

Up to this point grip has been amazing, with tire wear about what I expected (2 rears to 1 front). Then without warning, I lost the front in turn 6 at Fontana. No slide, no warning, just BAM.. down on my head.

Admittedly, these tires have had a few heat cycles, but I'm wondering if anyone else has had the similar 'light switch' grip to no grip experience. This was on lap 2 after 45 minutes on warmers at 180 deg.

2. Teuton

Teuton Well-Known Member

Im no expert but I only use each front tire about 2 times then I sell it. Its probably completly unnecessary but Im paranoid when it comes to tires

3. YZROOSTINYA

YZROOSTINYA Well-Known Member

4 days is alot IMO. I would not do more than one day on a "V" front for myself personally.

4. MELK-MAN

MELK-MAN The Dude abides...

Do a search.. you will find few, if ANY threads with similar conclusions as you. Most "experienced" riders (am or ex) know that 4 days on a tire is kinda.. well.. crazy.. And beginners tend to not feel the loss of traction. As the guys above posted, they would agree that 4 days is like, a few track days to many.