1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LVMS and all that I learned....

Discussion in 'Race Reports' started by KK352, Jan 31, 2009.

1. KK352

KK352 Well-Known Member

Hi Everybody...

This is my first time posting a RR on the BBS, but the things I learned I thought I would share so either you guys can get a chuckle... or maybe be so fortunate as to not make the same mistake....

Well.... as some of you WW peeps may know, I'm the girl who's racing an R1...

I learned over this weekend a few things - some good, some not so good - but myself and my bike came home in one piece, so I can't complain... just log it in my notebook ... hahahaha

Although all my friends told me I would learn what it means to spin the rear on corner exits, I realized I truly had no idea what that was going to feel like.
    I've lost grip on my 600 when the tires went off, and I just thought it would feel like that.... a little wiggle or so...

During the 20 lapper - I made a very poor decision on tires, and they went off quick. On the exit of the sweeper, I was looking where I wanted to go, and heading about 45 deg off of that trajectory!:eek:

*I learned the difference between running wide on poor suspension and running wide on tire spin - primary lesson - the throttle will *not* stand the bike up like normal when the rear is spinning.

The good thing I learned was that I need to pay better attention during the races to see where I'm at....

A Superstock is run under a single flag with the experts. I was in 2nd place off the start, but when a few experts crashed in t3, it simply did not register in my mind that the lead novice was pushed wide on the corner (Bob).

I was winning A Superstock for almost 4 laps and didn't even know it! :crackup: