1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

learn me on shock fitment. (penske triple for zx6r)

Discussion in 'Tech' started by Trainwreck, Jun 30, 2020.

1. Trainwreck

Trainwreck I could give a heck

Looking into getting set up with a Penske triple clicker rear. Obviously I shop used first (especially for an 11 year old bike)

Penske site shows that the 8987 triple is the unit needed for the 09-12 ZX6R. This also happens to be the same number that the CBR1000RR uses for 04-07.

Are these shocks pretty interchangeable?

I'm hoping to buy a used shock I've been eyeing for a really good price and be able to send it out for a refresh/spring change and save a good $5-600.

I'm relatively new to racing bikes, but am i even on the right page with this idea?

Thanks.

2. beathiswon

beathiswon Well-Known Member

Call Penske. They have very good customer service dept. and can tell you everything you need to know including changing parts around to fit your bike if needed. Not always cheap of course but but still pretty reasonable.

3. Trainwreck

I was going to give them a ring if I didn't get any info from here. I hate calling places unless I know I'm not going to waste their time. I'd love to just be able to call and say "hey i bought this shock, im sending it in for a rebuild/respring. are you ready for my CC info?" lol

I looked at the part diagrams and it seems that they have different clevis sizes and a unique "r6" option.

4. beathiswon

beathiswon Well-Known Member

That's how they make their money and the customer is happier when they get the correct info and don't blame them for bad information from somebody else.

5. ducnut

ducnut Well-Known Member

I’m going to guess, the shock body is the only thing interchangeable. The spring, valving, bushings, etc, are all going to be different, because the suspension designs on the two bikes are totally different.