1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

KZ650

Discussion in 'WERA Vintage' started by Muz720, Apr 19, 2017.

1. Muz720

Muz720 Well-Known Member

So after racing at CMP I got the bug to race an older bike. I started riding on the street in 1979 on a Suzuki GS 750. So I am drawn to that side of Vintage racing. I have found a 1977 KZ 650c1 seems like a great find in nice shape with low mileage. Good chose for Ahrma middle weight? Would also like to know if there is any after mkt race parts for this bike r am I on my own?

2. Jeff McKinney

Jeff McKinney Well-Known Member

I think parts should be available.

Bike would probably work real good in wera v5 too.I'm out of the loop but I don't think there are any real v5 bikes out there.

3. grasshopper

grasshopper Well-Known Member

The KZ650 is the dominant bike in AHRMAs Vintage Middleweight Superbike class.

□ VINTAGE SUPERBIKE
    1. HEAVYWEIGHT: Unlimited displacement twins and pushrod triples, and displacementlimited fours and sixes built up through the 1982 model year. See Section 10.8.3.
    2. MIDDLEWEIGHT: Unlimited displacement singles, limited pushrod twins, OHC twins, pushrod triples and OHC fours built up through the 1982 model year. See Section 10.8.3.
    3. LIGHTWEIGHT: Singles, twins and multis using performance indexes for smaller bikes. See Section 10.8.3.

4. grasshopper

grasshopper Well-Known Member

The idea you need to wrap your head around in the vintage racing to have the maximum amount of fun is to Figure out what the dominant legal bike is in each class and go out and clean house. Every class has the dominant bike. Like the 675R in SOT2. The fact they allowed that bike in that class still pisses me off.

5. 83BSA

83BSA Well-Known Member