1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

k4 GSXR 600 starting issues

Discussion in 'Tech' started by scott314stl, Jan 7, 2010.

1. scott314stl

scott314stl just gettin started

:Poke:Ok I am new to working on motorcycles but have worked on cars for years, well anyways I decided to do a motor swap on my bike. I got a K5 600 motor completed the swap. I used the upper throttle body assembly from my motor on the K5, well when I tried to start it it would Backfire act like it was gonna start then nothing. I took the plugs out let it sit for a day then put in new plugs. I connected it all up and tried again, I had to open the throttle about 1/2 way and it started. As soon as I released the throttle it died. I asked some people I know, one said soak the injectors in seafoam to clean them. They might be dirty and not supplying enough fuel, I havent tried this yet but has anyone had this issue or know of any other things to try?? Please help

2. iomTT

iomTT Well-Known Member

Have you fitted the connectors onto the injection unit the correct way round

3. scott314stl

can you explain alittle more, Im not sure what you mean by connectors to the injection unit. Do you mean where the fuel line runs from the tank to the fuel rail

4. gixxersmitty

gixxersmitty Well-Known Member

I think it might be the TPS that is mounted on the black box on the end of the throttle bodies. If you took any of that loose from the throttle bodies it will have to be reset. Its spring loaded and mounted to the end of the secondary butterflies. You will need a multimeter to get it set. That is if you took that stuff loose from the throttle bodies when you switched them out.

5. scott314stl