1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Garage door opener experts

Discussion in 'General' started by Jon Wilkens, Sep 1, 2019.

1. Jon Wilkens

Jon Wilkens Well-Known Member

I have a Chamberlain Liftmaster Professional 1/3hp door opener.

All of a sudden it starts constantly clicking and no longer responds to commands from remote or door button. Light is flashing with clicks (that are very fast) as does the door button. I've unplugged it and plugged it back in, and that stopped the clicking but still inop. I get on ladder, and I can hear the clicking still happening real softly but no light flashing. I go inside for a minute and come back out and now it's clicking loudly again with light flashing. I've checked the safety sensors and the lights are on them as they should be...and also made sure they are cleaned off and clear of obstructions.

I am no garage door expert...just curious if it's the board that is toast? There is a capacitor, but appears to be intact with no burns or bulges. I have an identical one in the next bay, so will swap out caps to see if that changes it.

Who knows about these things?

2. worthless

worthless Well-Known Member

With some sensors, the lights come on when there’s an issue. Make sure they are aligned properly.

3. lee955i

lee955i The Traveling Gnome

Disconnect the door and see if it works unloaded. Check the wiring to the sensors to make sure one isn't chafed/broken (actually happened to me once) , look up youtube videos on said subject :D

4. Jeff McKinney

Jeff McKinney Well-Known Member

Sensor circuit issue or bad logic board.

Jon Wilkens likes this.
  5. pscook

pscook Well-Known Member

Ours clicks like that when something interrupts the safety beam or when the door resists movement. Check to make sure that the safety beams aren't out of alignment or blocked and then operate door by hand and see how it feels.

6. Mongo

Mongo Administrator