1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gamers - FPS (specifically COD Modern Warfare - Remastered)

Discussion in 'General' started by pefrey, Jan 30, 2019.

1. pefrey

pefrey Well-Known Member

I am pretty new to online gaming and playing COD (PS4) , and getting my arse handed to me. I have a K/D ratio of .31 after 208 games. What I find amazing is how fast and skilled the other players are. I watch the "death cam" of my demise and it baffles me how fast other players can sight me in and dispatch me. Not only that, but they seem to easily see me from a long way off.

My internet (using a LAN cable) is plenty fast enough so, ssuming I am not a complete gaming spaz, will I benefit from a 4K gaming monitor with a 1ms lag? Presently I am using a regular 1920 x 1080 60Hz monitor.

2. Greenhound386

Greenhound386 Well-Known Member

Barring a hack or cheat, it has a lot to do with map awareness. They are anticipating where other players will be based off of experience, knowledge of choke points and spawn points, visual indications of where a teammate has died, etc. Players with headphones can pickup on some of the audible cues a little better as well.

3. pefrey

pefrey Well-Known Member

Agreed, map awareness is an advantage. Yes to the headphones as well, a friend of mine says he can hear footsteps near him. I don't mind getting wasted by superior skill, but if I can narrow the gap created by superior equipment (if that's a contributing factor which is basically my question) it would make online play a little more enjoyable.

4. mpusch

mpusch Well-Known Member

There's a pretty decent learning curve to a game like that. A lot of muscle memory to build up and a lot of people who have played a LOT more than you.

Don't think the monitor would be the difference maker. But nothing wrong with better gear :D