1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do you have to "soak" clutch plates before installing?

Discussion in 'Tech' started by Lawdog78, Aug 25, 2005.

1. Lawdog78

Lawdog78 Well-Known Member

I'm putting a new EBC clutch in an '04 zx6r. I've heard you are supposed to soak the plates in oil before installation. Would it not just be enough to thoroughly wipe each one with oil? If you do need to totally soak them, how long should you do it for? And does it matter if you use a synthetic oil?? Thanks!

2. Shenanigans

Shenanigans in Mr.Rogers neighborhood

That is the way i was taught for atleast 1 hr.

3. G Dawg

G Dawg Broken Member

I have been told, that you do not have to. I would not try it.
    Soak them in non-synthetic oil, for at least 15 minutes.

4. (diet)DrThunder

(diet)DrThunder Why so serious, son?

WARNING: I am not a mechanic...

I hadn't ever heard that...I've changed maybe 6 or 7 clutches over the time I've been riding bikes, and I've never soaked the plates, and never had a problem.

What is it supposed to accomplish?

5. cleezmo

cleezmo Well-Known Member

Hope you have good luck with the EBCs. I put a set in my TL-S and it is very, very grabby. In fact, when the bike sits for any time, you can't pull in the clutch and wheel the thing in gear, you have to put it in neutral. Once the motor is warm, you can. I'm running full synthetic oil (as I did with the stockers for 20,000+ miles with no problems).

Any of you mechanics out there have this happen? A buddy had a set in his R6 racebike and it does the same thing...

6. G Dawg

G Dawg Broken Member

Not sure about the EBCs, I tried putting a set of Ferrodo's in a F4, could not get them to work. I measured the thickness of the fibers. they were .35mm thicker than OEM spec. Add that times 7 and there you go, way to thick.
    Did you soak the EBCs?

7. G Dawg

G Dawg Broken Member