1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Desktop build advice

Discussion in 'General' started by dobr24, Jul 10, 2019.

1. dobr24

dobr24 Well-Known Member

So my old desktop computer at work is showing it's age and even though I have made upgrades along the way I.E. graphics card, SSDs and other stuff I am starting to have trouble with speed. It is a AMD 2.5ghz with a maxed out 16gb of ram. I looked to upgrade just the chipset but the additional speed and limited to 2.7ghz.

I looked at buying a computer but it seems like unless I want to spend $1,700+ I am going to have to settle in some department. Then I thought about building my own. I have a Microcenter nearby and they have some pretty good deals which means I could probably get away with building a 3.7ghz+ with 64gb ram for around $1,100. I have never built a computer before. I am not super computer savvy but am very mechanically adept. I would appreciate any suggestions and or tips before going too far down the rabbit hole.

I use the computer for work and ACAD.

Basic specs I was thinking are these:

AMD Ryzen 7 2700X with Wraith Prism Cooler, ASUS ROG STRIX B450-F Gaming CPU / Motherboard Bundle $309.
    http://www.microcenter.com/product/...-strix-b450-f-gaming-cpu---motherboard-bundle

PowerColor Red Dragon Radeon RX 580 Dual-Fan 8GB GDDR5 PCIe Video Card $185
    http://www.microcenter.com/product/...eon-rx-580-dual-fan-8gb-gddr5-pcie-video-card

Cooler Master MasterLiquid ML120L 120mm RGB Water Cooling Kit $65

A 500gb ssd primary drive and swap over my 1tb bulk storage drive

64gb ram

Windows 10 pro

New Case

650w power supply

Reuse my existing cd drive, keyboard, mouse and monitor

I plan to shop around a little bit as I know that some of the above pricing can be beat elsewhere.

2. code3ryder

code3ryder Well-Known Member

Pcpartpicker.com is very helpful if you haven't hit that up yet.

600 dbl are and BigBird like this.