1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Defibrillators----School Me

Discussion in 'General' started by tony 340, Feb 5, 2014.

1. tony 340

tony 340 Well-Known Member

Anybody here well versed in these things?

I want to get a couple of these for our shop.

If you have one in your shop, or have had to use one, what models do you like, etc.?

Thanks

2. rd400racer

rd400racer Well-Known Member

Yeah, as a high school coach I had to take yearly training with them.

It's like a fire extinguisher, nobody ever wants to use one but when you need to it is probably going to save someone's life.

3. dtalbott

dtalbott Driving somewhere, hauling something.

All I know is you have to rub them together and yell, "CLEAR!"

4. Lawn Dart

Lawn Dart Difficult. With a big D.

I've never bought one, but I've been trained on a couple of models. If you're going to have one, make sure you have people trained by the Red Cross or somewhere's else to use them.

Many in commercial buildings and on airplanes are single use AEDs. They come with little sticky pads that go on the subject's chest, not paddles you rub together with conductive gel. They also come with very simple instructions on correct placement and steps. The single use models only have one or two buttons on them, and will either talk you through the steps, or will come with instructions on what to do at what time.

When I say "single use" what I mean is - its like a fire extinguisher. You use up the charge, then send it in for recharging and calibration/check, etc.

LIFEPAK and Philips both make models like I've described, but there are lots of others out there. Philips, I believe, made the model I was trained on and it was painfully simple to use (no pun intended).

I hope that helps.

5. TheUncannyJ

TheUncannyJ Well-Known Member