1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

camera for trackdays with data

Discussion in 'General' started by ajcjr, Jan 24, 2019.

1. ajcjr

ajcjr Well-Known Member

Im still a beginner on the track but would like to track some data to see where i am making improvement, braking etc,, anything decent or should i just go with a go pro and worry about data later.

2. NemesisR6

NemesisR6 Gristle McThornbody

Focus on your riding, especially trying to be consistent and smooth. You'll be making improvements hand-over-fist in the beginning, and telemetry is going to be all over the place. You'll just be chasing your tail.

When you're starting to chase tenths and can string together 6-8 laps within a second of each other, then maybe you can start analyzing data and get something out of it.....

ajcjr, lazlo, Prospect and 3 others like this.
  3. TLR67

TLR67 Well-Known Member

Forget the camera and get 1 on 1 coaching. The investment in a day with Geoff May or DiSalvo will be much more beneficial than any camera or software for years.

ajcjr likes this.
  4. Ducti89

Ducti89 Ticketing Melka’s dirtbike.....

Work on trail braking. I mean real trail braking; carrying brakes through to the actual apex or just after using the brake to orient the nose on your exit.

1 on 1 coaching will help.

ajcjr likes this.
  5. mike-guy

mike-guy Well-Known Member

Aim Solo! If you aren’t within 5 seconds of the track record just convince yourself that no one loves you and just pin it.

I seriousness what’s been said is good advice but personally lap timers are a tool, especially ones that do split times.

6. mdhokie

mdhokie Well-Known Member