1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any Ford Techs or Service Writers - need your opinion

Discussion in 'General' started by RossK6, May 2, 2016.

1. RossK6

RossK6 Grid Filler

My son's 2004 Ford Escape 3.0L V6 has been diagnosed as need new valve cover gaskets, o-rings, and spark plugs due to a leaking PVC hose. My bet is that while the source of the leak is identified (pvc hose), they are going for valve cover gaskets etc "just in case". Toss in various filters and a fuel injection service and the tab is $1,475.00 before tax.
    Now it's been 3 decades since I worked in a shop, and some things have changed, but this seems like an example of an over zealous service writer. I can't think of any reason to replace the valve cover gaskets etc unless the PVC can't be replaced without removing the valve cover.

2. noles19

noles19 Well-Known Member

Did you take it to a dealer?

3. ryoung57

ryoung57 Off his meds

Not saying it's for sure, but there's a really common issue with the 3.0 in the taurus that's similar to this. There's an elbow on the intake that cracks and leaks, throwing pcv codes. I fixed it for something like $40 on the car we bought my stepdaughter.

4. ryoung57

ryoung57 Off his meds

5. RossK6

RossK6 Grid Filler

Yes. The dealer in question was recently bought out. We had minor services done since, but you can tell the employess don't seem to enjoy the new management. So the wife and son took it to the place we had been taken care of in the past. I'm beginning to think we may be looking for a new shop.

6. RossK6

RossK6 Grid Filler

The service writer said it was the PVC hose when I spoke to him on the phone - surprised a PVC hose also calls for R&R of the valse cover gaskets, stc.

7. noles19

My dad works in up town at a small family(not mine) shop, he's been a mechanic for almost 40 years.

8. ryoung57

ryoung57 Off his meds