1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Another RV advice thread

Discussion in 'General' started by SnacktimeKC, Nov 18, 2013.

1. SnacktimeKC

SnacktimeKC Well-Known Member

I've been racing out of a van for 8 years and at 46 years old that's starting to get a little old. I also live in Kansas City so where ever I go to race is a long drive, as in 10,000 to 15,000 miles for a full season with CMRA or a mix of WERA & CMRA. I'm thing of spending 25-30k on a RV, the question is what kind and/or which one? Is a budget of 2500-5k for maintenance reasonable?
    Or just do nothing at all and keep living down by the river in my van?

I've noticed the no slide outs diesel pushers in good shape are a very attractive price but am I asking for a TON of problems with something like this?http://kansascity.craigslist.org/rvs/4117242888.html

Or am I better off with this?
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/ws/eBayISAP...3695&item=190968163695&lgeo=1&vectorid=229466

Thanks in advance for the advice.

2. TurboBlew

TurboBlew Registers Abusers

Think you might be happier with the first one. 100k seems reasonable for mileage. Being 17 yrs old you might want to look at critical components like the roof, windows, tires, and the trans. If its an Allison 3000 those run about $14k or so. If I could buy that for $25k (after a few hours of inspection)... id feel really comfortable.

3. ryoung57

ryoung57 Off his meds

You're giving up on the Van lifestyle? Say it ain't so!

4. SnacktimeKC

Yeah, a pre-inspection is definitely planned. Thanks for the input!

"thinking" about it...

5. ryoung57

ryoung57 Off his meds

I would really like to build out a custom Sprinter toy hauler like these Sportsmobiles. It can't be that hard.

http://www.sportsmobile.com/3_bikes.html

I cannot ever see myself buying an 8mpg behemoth for $30k just to drive to the track a half dozen times per year and spending $500 on gas each trip.