1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A lot to take in...

Discussion in 'Information For New Racers' started by DeathMagnet, Mar 5, 2017.

1. DeathMagnet

DeathMagnet Life behind bars...

I am new to all of this and I am very keen on starting in this adventure. I am stuck at bike selection. I know, it could be a holy war but, I do need some sage guidance as none of my friends are into this and I am stuck.

I bought a 2005 Ducati 999 for a steal and went through making it track ready, it is done and it was fun but...It is a LOT of bike and I worry I have bitten off more than I can chew, I don't think this is a bike to START with as it is quite a handful and quite costly to repair. It is also street legal and would be a shame to slide down the track.

On to the question. I have seen that the pro's started young with small displacement bikes to learn proper techniques prior to increasing horsepower. With the range of bike available I am looking for where to start.

I am a 200lb guy that has been riding a long time (Dirt, Adventure and Cross Country) and have many many miles under my belt. Being surrounded by bigger and/or faster things don't shake me at all nor could I care. I also have many bikes from Harleys to BMW's and Gas Gas, I am not brand loyal nor do I care what people think of my ride.

Should I:
    • Start with the 250cc-390cc bikes and learn to corner?
    • Pick up a proven 600cc and have fun and not total my Duc for the sake of starting smaller?
    • Jump in with both feet and throw caution to the wind and head to the track with my 999 and hope for the best.
    I am not too far away from Mid-Ohio so track days wont be an issue.

2. mpusch

mpusch Well-Known Member

Prepare yourself, the SV650 recommendations are coming - and probably for good reason.

Big Sherm, beac83, rk97 and 5 others like this.
  3. TurboBlew

TurboBlew Registers Abusers