1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

675R lost power + blowing white smoke

Discussion in 'Tech' started by Littlehat, Mar 10, 2017.

1. Littlehat

Littlehat Well-Known Member

Couple of weekends ago I blew my motor. I lost power and couldn't rev past 8k so I got off the track. Bike was blowing white smoke from the tail pipe and cylinder #3's header gasket. Sounds like complete shit. I drained the oil and took a sample for Blackstones. Didn't appear to be too milky looking and the coolant showed no signs of oil in it as far as i could tell. I got most of the trim off and took some pictures of the intake and exhaust ports. I am only posting the two that came into focus the most. All three cylinders ports look identical to one another. Any one have any thoughts as to what it looks like? I am no expert, but the intake valves and the whole exhaust ports/valves look like crap to me. I was hoping they would look good and this would only be a new head gasket, but not so sure anymore after looking at them.

http://i58.photobucket.com/albums/g270/Littlehat4111/20170309_220727_zpskzhjobwk.jpg

http://i58.photobucket.com/albums/g270/Littlehat4111/20170309_220704_zpssiu7ycuu.jpg

http://i58.photobucket.com/albums/g270/Littlehat4111/Capture_zpsezomo7m4.png

2. Boman Forklift

Boman Forklift Well-Known Member

Sounds like a blown head gasket to me, based on white smoke you described? I'm guessing if you get to the point of removing the head, one of the piston crowns will be colered differently. Either cleaner, or different color, or rusty?

Have you done a pressure test on the cooling system? If you do, it should hold pressure for 10-15 minutes. If not you may see where it is seeping/leaking or hear the hissing. I don't know your engine, so I don't know if there is a common place they pop?

Have you done a compression test?