1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

125 getting started

Discussion in '2-Stroke Machines' started by Prost1, Jul 9, 2001.

1. Prost1

Prost1 New Member

Im a novice interested in starting in 125s looking for some expert advice. How finiky are they, how quick do they use consumeables(tires, brakes, engine parts)??, and at 175lbs am I too heavy to ride one? I would appreciate anyone who takes the time to answer my elementary questions.

2. Weezer # 1

Weezer # 1 250 GP'er

First of all....you can ride one. Just remember that a 14 year-old at about 90 pounds will pull you out if turns like you just ran out of gas.
    Two....the pre-95 RS125s are not too finicky at all. A great bike for the beginner GPer. I would go with a 93 or 94.
    Three....they aren't too bad on anything really. It just needs some preventive maintenance and a good eye to ck everything over. Top-ends will be like every other weekend or so...depends on how much time or mileage you put on the bike. It is all explained in the manual.
    There are some sites you can go to as well.

Eric
    FW,TX

3. TZpunk

TZpunk Active Member

Boy will they ever. This weekend's race at Road Atlanta has inspired me to lose the 15 lbs of "I sit in front of a computer all day" fat.

[This message has been edited by TZpunk (edited 07-09-2001).]

4. Jack

Jack Well-Known Member

Just like to add, I'm a portly 190 lbs. Yes, I need to get back on my diet, but I don't think I can get much below 180 without lyposuction. Just ride harder and you'll finish higher.

Jack

[This message has been edited by Jack (edited 07-09-2001).]

5. LMcCurdy

LMcCurdy Antique

6. gpwannabe

gpwannabe Well-Known Member

I'd say go 95 and up. I don't find my 95 rs overly finicky. You will use a top end ever other weekend and a crank once a year but the 95rss and up are better and parts availibility is better.

My fat ass is 189 sans gear and I ride just fine.