1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

06 kawasaki ex500 tire selection for track day

Discussion in 'WERA Vintage' started by Elod, May 6, 2017.

1. Elod

Elod New Member

Need some advise on tire selection on my ex500 2006
    Has the factory 17" wheels
    What size tire should i run? What is the best option?

2. britx303

britx303 Boomstick Butcher…..

Are you using warmers? Ive run rosso IIs and dunlop alpha 13s with those rims. I love the dunlops over the rIIs,but either one will be up to the task of a trackday. Rosso IIs if you dont have warmers or the dunlops if you do have them. I know there are the rosso IIIs out now,but I have ZERO experience with them,and not sure if they even come in a 150 rear.

3. Elod

Elod New Member

So you run a 150 rear tire?
    What about the front?
    I don't run warmers

4. britx303

110 F and 150 R

5. rk97

rk97 Well-Known Member

Watch the ratio on the front. I believe the 110/90 may rub the fender at speed.

...or maybe that was just an issue with some sets of aftermarket bodywork.

6. V5 Racer

V5 Racer Yo!

My ex500 came with a Bridgestone 150 on the rear and the handling characteristics could best be described as "terrifying". Was great up to about 85-90%, then the bike would literally fall away under you. Went to a 140 and it was a vast improvement (the 150 was pinched because of the narrowness of the rim which screwed up the profile). Different manufactures tire sizes are different so a 150 from another brand might be fine.

7. sharky nrk

sharky nrk Rubber Side Up

This ..... so much this. What size the rear of the 500? is a 3.5 or 4 inch wide rear wheel?

8. V5 Racer

V5 Racer Yo!

Don't recall. Skinny LOL

9. Killswitch

Killswitch Redneckistanian