1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A good bike

Discussion in 'General' started by racer034life, Feb 20, 2005.

1. racer034life

racer034life Well-Known Member

I have been riding for around 6 months and I havent really been on another on for about a year now. But i think I can still get the hang of riding again. So anyways Im looking at either a Rc51 or a bike to start riding again. I have been told because of my size that i would do good on a bigger bike. But i have also been told that i should just go back to a 600 and learm some more. What should i do. Or should i just learn more on the Rc51 and hope not to drop the bike.

2. WERA29

WERA29 On a mental field trip...

Need more info before we can answer...

How big are you? What type of riding will you be doing? Street commuting? Sunday backroads blasting? Any track duty?

If you're just street riding then any of the new 600's will have more than enough power. Some are geared more towards street comfort (i.e. Honda) while others are more track oriented (Suzuki).

It all depends on your intended use and riding style.

3. wera 688

wera 688 in the mosh pit

I see Tom's back:D Ya hippie!

4. Mojo

Mojo Big Swinging Member

You must be behind him then. :rolleyes:

5. racer034life

This will be for sunday rides and maybe going to mid-ohio every now and then. Also im 6'4 and 250. I have been on a 600 but it just feels small thats all.

6. WERA29

WERA29 On a mental field trip...

If you're new to riding and want a bigger bike then the RC51 sounds like a good fit. Big enough that you won't feel like a monkey humping a football ;) but tame enough that you won't get yourself in as much trouble as you would on an R1 or ZX-10.

Get what feels comfortable to you and make sure it's affordable so you have money left over to buy good riding gear if you don't already have it.