Denied

Discussion in 'General' started by GixxerBlade, Oct 13, 2004.

1. GixxerBlade

GixxerBlade Oh geez

Well you can count on the Marine Corps for making life real stressful. I am beginning to re-think my career choice. I bought great tickets for the upcomng round in Valencia, bought my plane tickets, reserved a killer hotel room for a killer deal and sure enough my "Gunny" sees fit to deny me my leave for that period. I don't know what to do. I have almost $2200 invested in a week of fun and motorcycle racing. I am at my wits end and the only thing he can say to me is you can take those plane tickets and shove up your ass. I am not even a bad Marine. I get high marks on all my fitness reports and do without question what is told of me. He did say that if I have a class in session (I am an instructor at a fleet aviation school) that we couldn't take leave. He told us this 2 weeks ago after I had already purchased my plane tickets, reserved my hotel room, and got the tickets to the race. I know grown men aren't supposed to cry but I feel sooo stressed out right about now. What can I do?

2. guerrilla

guerrilla Real King of the Jungle

Go AWOL. Then hook up with a couple of "terrorists" and say you were abducted. It worked for the cat that tried to bug out to Jordan! :)

3. smooth

smooth Well-Known Member

Just "frag" 'em! (only kidding). Seriously, I had similar issues when I was in the service. I was the only person in my unit with my MOS and that could handle my responsibilities (as an E2 no less) so my commanders didn't want me to take any leave. They argued that the operational readiness of the unit would drop. Luckily, I had a cool Section Leader that went to bat for me. It's hard to do, but try going over the guy's head and also be able to show that your absence will not compromise your unit.

Good luck!
    (lucky bum, going to Valencia and all. . . . :Poke: )

4. GixxerBlade

GixxerBlade Oh geez

Yeah request mast, thats a career builder.

5. Joe Morris