1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How did you get into racing?

Discussion in 'General' started by Kadam, Jul 29, 2004.

1. Kadam

Kadam Active Member

How did everyone around here get into motorcycle track racing?

I'm interested in getting into it but don't know where to start. I looked into picking up a ysr and starting there, but the local kart tracks don't allow ysr racing (as of now). Track days are an option, but I want to keep my street bike in running condition and can't afford to wreck it right now.

I live in western ny if anyone around here has any ideas for this area, thanks.

2. GixxerBlade

GixxerBlade Oh geez

Well I'm not into racing yet as this is my first year of trying but heres what I am doing:
    I went to a school to learn about lines, reference points, and kneedragging. Then I started going to trackdays, I have done 4 this year so far and am continue to go to get practice under my belt and learn how everyone else goes full tilt boogey. Next year I am going to race about 4 or 5 races and call my lawyer becasue by then I will be bankrupt because Sergeants don't make enough to race. As far as getting a bike I searched for almost 6 months before I found a good deal on an 90 FZR600 and went to a couple of trackdays on that then I got some beer money together and got me an SV and I like that lots better. So to re-cap: 1.Get a bike 2. Go to race school 3. Go to trackdays and practice what you learned at race school 4. Race.

3. JamesG

JamesG Architeuthis dux

I got suckered in...

The guy I bought a cheap F2 from threw in his leathers, stands and race stuff. All it took was seeing one race on TV (the '97 GNF if I remember correctly) was all it took for me to think, "Gee, I could do that..."

Things have gone down hill ever since. :p

4. Kadam

Kadam Active Member

gixxerblade....whered you goto track school at?

5. rockinchili

rockinchili Well-Known Member