1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need a GM 5.3L replacement engine, who do you recommend?

Discussion in 'General' started by Saiyan66, Nov 10, 2022.

1. Saiyan66

Saiyan66 Stand your ground

The wife's 2006 Suburban has 200k on it and is needing a new motor and trans here very soon. Who do you guys recommend for engines? Tons of companies out there these days with "warranties" but I have no experience with their products. A warranty means nothing to me if the car is down and I have to replace the engine a second time. All factory GM options are on backorder and the parts guy says no idea when that might clear.

2. pickled egg

pickled egg Tell me more

For a 16 year old vehicle with 200k I’d go with a salvage yard.

www.car-part.com

Rene Bucek likes this.
  3. Robby-Bobby

Robby-Bobby Steeltoe’s Daddy

Its a 5.3 Find one in a reputable salvage yard and do the entire swap for like a grand n a weekend.

Saiyan66 likes this.
  4. TurboBlew

TurboBlew Registers Abusers

most of the reman warranties require an "authorized" facility to do the installation.
    I would imagine an engine/trans will run you 5-7k plus any other components. Wouldnt be hard to be at $10k all in... for something worth $8ish??

5. Trainwreck

Trainwreck I could give a heck

I have a "5.3" shortblock for sale.. lol

6.0 block, 0.005" over bore, 4.8L crank, forged Lunati rods, Wiseco pistons with Mt Everest sitting on top of them, and set up for 1/2' head studs. lol Comes out to about 328 cubic inches. will prolly net about 13.4:1 with a 60cc chamber head.. Was going to do that, with a 76mm turbo and M1 fuel.

Was building a drag radial car for a class called Ultra Street, because I assumed I would have given up bikes by now and went back to cars.

I was wrong.

6. A. Barrister

A. Barrister Well-Known Member