1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NSR250 MC28 Track Day Tires

Discussion in '2-Stroke Machines' started by yitty, Mar 28, 2022.

1. yitty

yitty Member

I have a few questions regarding track day tires for the NSR250..

I was a middle of the pack A-group track rider on a 600 and always ran slicks with warmers.

I have no experience on a small displacement 2-stroke but I just picked up an NSR250 that will be a track bike only... my 2 questions are slicks/no slicks and size.

Does anyone run slicks, is it difficult to keep the tires up to temp? Or run something more street oriented like a Diablo Rosso III etc. ?

Next question is size. the 110/70 is pretty easy to come by but the 150/60 rear options seem to be pretty limited (Diablo Rosso III has a 150/60)

I can run a 160/60 but does anyone have real experience with a 150/60 vs a 160/60 ? Will it be REALLY noticeable? Also if I run 160/60 am I better off running 120/70 up front, or is the 110/70 fine ?

thanks in advance for any help

2. yitty

yitty Member

Pirelli also has the 140/70 rear if anyone is running that... I think that's what the MotoAmerica 390's are running...

3. TurboBlew

TurboBlew Registers Abusers

slicks most definitely...
    I would look at the tire dimensions... and discuss with your vendor. Im assuming the rear rim is 4.5" in width?

4. Cooter!

Cooter! Sarcasm level: Maximum

There will be a ton of opinions so I'll just give my (limited) experience.
    My girl and I are new to small bikes and both race Ninja 400's running about 2:10's at Buttonwillow. We had the same question.