New, wanting to learn about best parts

Discussion in 'General' started by CooperG3, Nov 12, 2021.

1. CooperG3

CooperG3 Member

I'm new to the scene and wanted to get into track days. I catch myself on the road going a little to fast too often and don't need to end up without a license. I don't know much about the racing scene and what parts are recommended and best and what value I'm getting out of the bikes I'm looking at. I'm very interested in any R6's that you might see. Don't want to over spend because I don't know what I'm talking about and I figured theirs no better place to talk! I do want to make an investment and would rather spend some money and get something that is worth it.

2. Venom51

Venom51 John Deere Equipment Expert - Not really

Racing is not the only path to getting off the public roads. A bone stock R6 and some track days should keep you out of trouble.

badmoon692008 and TurboBlew like this.
  3. 2blueYam

2blueYam Track Day Addict

Best bang for your buck is most likely a track prepared SV650 and some track days. If you like it enough you can move into racing from their fairly easily.

evakat likes this.
  4. CooperG3

CooperG3 Member

When i said racing i just meant track days. Sorry for the bad lingo

5. gixxerboy55

gixxerboy55 Well-Known Member

You have an R6 and want to do track days is that correct, if so you don't need anything but good tires and good gear. Starting with some quality leathers.

6. Mongo

Mongo Administrator

Yep, best parts are good leathers and safety gear. Once that is done go to suspension. Then worry about the other stuff.

7. TurboBlew

TurboBlew Registers Abusers

try to stay as stock as possible except for suspension, brake pads, & controls. If you decide to go racing then you wont be limited in the classes you can run.
    Also look into some instruction or peruse @khill gift to the sport... http://khcoaching.com/

8. StanTheMan

StanTheMan Well-Known Member