1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Deep groove vs angular contact bearings

Discussion in 'General' started by tiggen, Aug 27, 2021.

1. tiggen

tiggen Things are lookin' up.

I am not an engineer, but I'd like to understand the physics and design choices in the following application.

I am putting new bearings in my front wheel hubs for my kart. Stock bearings are deep groove. This makes sense to me as a wheel's primary job is to spin.

Then I think about cornering forces with grippy tires. I imagine that that puts a large axial load on the bearings as well.

So why not angular contact bearings? What is going on here that I don't understand/am not aware of?

I read that angular contact bearings have more radial friction. Does that matter when the max rpm of the wheel is probably 1/10 the rated rpm of the bearings?

I read that angular bearings are directionally biased, but if there are two per hub, could you just put one in each direction?

I read that angular bearings need a pre-load, and the bearings in my hubs are just a friction fit. Would this be a problem? Could a preload be applied with retaining rings and a spacer between the bearings?

What kind of bearings are in racecar hubs?

2. sdg

sdg *

Googles:

//store.drpperformance.com/drp-premium-finished-wide-five-bearing-kit/

From a timken guy I used to work with: "at operating temperature, ideally you have a line to line fit" in other words, no preload, no play.

Now go figure out what your actual operating temps are on your actual parts and materials and assembly practice...

Yay fun