1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Supermoto for the street

Discussion in 'General' started by R1Racer99, Mar 9, 2021.

1. R1Racer99

R1Racer99 Well-Known Member

I’ve been riding sportbikes for 20 years but other than my Grom, that’s the only kind of bike I’ve ridden. I’ve been watching videos of Husqvarna 701 supermotos all winter and really want one, my question is, coming off of sportbikes, is there any reason I wouldn’t love riding one of these on the street? They’re pretty pricey at $12k new but I found a leftover ‘20 for $10,800. For those who ride these kind of bikes, let me know what you think about riding these versus 600’s and 1000’s.

2. ducnut

ducnut Well-Known Member

If you’re not racing the thing at the track, a Hypermotard would be a much better streetbike.

bwhip and jdmosley43 like this.
  3. Kurlon

Kurlon Well-Known Member

701 is a fine streetbike. Plenty of power for highway bombing without needing buzzing revs, lighter than a Hyper, normal street bike maint intervals, it's a sweet package. Where it comes up 'short' as a sumo is in comparison to 450s, they're lighter, slightly smaller, so when it comes to dirt, sumo or short track road racing the 450s win, otherwise the 701 is a better choice.

dobr24, TurboBlew and turbulence like this.
  4. turbulence

turbulence Well-Known Member

i guess it depends on what you define as “better”.

having owned the 821, 939, and 950 hypers, the 950 is really good. nice power, nice fueling, quick shift/autoblipper, but also ducati pricing for MSRP and parts.

it’s still not a super fast bike though... i currently own a 2021 690 smc-r and i’d say it’s almost as fast.. at least up to 80mph. (anything above that sucks on both bikes).

the husky/ktm will crash better, cheaper to own/maintain, parts are cheaper, you can jump it, and it’s 100lbs lighter. and now they have the quickshift/autoblip.