1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Beginner Bike Question

Discussion in 'General' started by hondaboi, Oct 5, 2020.

1. hondaboi

hondaboi New Member

Hi guys, I am new to racing / trackdays. Never done it ever.
    To be honest, I am not a superstar on the street either.
    I am relatively safe rider on the road, keep the bike well within it's limits, open the throttle on straights with visibility.
    Pretty much haven't ridden in 2-3 years.
    That being said, I still love riding, which is why I'm want to start tracking.

I have gone through new rider (sorry mods, unable to post in there) and I see the recommendations are strong for the SV650.
    My question, I currently have an 06 Ninja 650R.
    Is this a good bike to take to the track? -- is it worth the hassle to sell this and get an SV650?
    I am worried the pegs will hit the ground mid turn.

EDIT: Sorry, I do have permissions now, must have been temporary.

2. fastfreddie

fastfreddie Midnight Oil Garage

You're gonna get suggestions and recommendations from across the board but I'll be the first to say keep what you have.

The SV has a near cult-like following here, parts are inexpensive and readily available. I don't see it being a better bike for what you want to do and, no, you're not gonna drag your pegs on the 650R any sooner than you would on any other bike. If you have a sentimental attachment to your 650R, maybe you might consider something else - just in case you do drag the pegs (usually a result of crashing). ;)

I think the best advice you're gonna hear is...take a riding school. Invest in yourself. The gains are transferable to anything and everything you will ever ride for the rest of your life.

3. 50Joe

50Joe Registered User

Ride what you want. Just get good suspension and good tires and leave everything else alone for now and get good instruction and track time.

4. mpusch

mpusch Well-Known Member